Tenth International Triennial Calcutta Symposium
Probability & Statistics
(Celebrating the Birth Centenary of Prof. H. K. Nandi)
December 27-30, 2018
Organised jointly by:
Department of Statistics, University of Calcutta
Calcutta Statistical Association.

The Department of Statistics of University of Calcutta was established in 1941 with Prof. P.C. Mahalanobis as the founder Head. It is the oldest Department in Asia that offers a post-graduate course in Statistics. It has nurtured and produced several eminent statisticians who have received world-wide recognition. The department is regularly visited by illustrious scholars, both from India and abroad. Over the years, it has established itself as one of the prime departments in India for dissipating knowledge in Statistics and related disciplines.

Calcutta Statistical Association is an international learned society, closely associated with the Department. It was established in 1945 with a view to promote activities related to Statistics and its allied fields. The Association publishes an internationally circulated journal, besides organizing lectures, seminars, workshops and symposia. Currently the journal is being published by SAGE. It also keeps a close liaison with the academic activities of the Department of Statistics in Universities, Colleges and other institutes in West Bengal.


Following in the footsteps of the earlier nine symposia, held in 1991, 1994, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2006, 2009, 2012 and 2015, the Tenth International Triennial Calcutta Symposium will offer a common platform to statisticians engaged in research on theoretical and applied aspects of Statistics and Probability, to interact and exchange ideas. A fairly large number of eminent researchers from all over the world are expected to attend the Symposium. The tenth edition will be dedicated to the memory of Prof H. K. Nandi on his birth centenary year.


  • R. C. Bose Memorial Session on Design of Experiments and Related Combinatorics
  • S. N. Roy Memorial Lecture organized by the Department of Statistics, University of Calcutta
  • S. K. Chakravarti Memorial Lecture organized by the Calcutta Statistical Association
  • Special session in celebration of the birth centenary of Prof. P. K. Banerjee
  • Special session in the memory of Prof. J. K. Ghosh
  • Poster session for students and young researchers


The official language of the Symposium will be English.


Intending participants are requested to mail an extended abstract (in about 300 words) to papers.caltri10@gmail.com, latest by June 30, 2018. The preferred formats are PDF or DOC. The abstract should include a title, a few keywords, the name(s) of the author(s), affiliation(s) and full mailing address(es), including fax and e-mail ID(s). Decision on acceptance or otherwise will be communicated by July 31, 2018. The Power-Point presentations of accepted papers should be mailed to the above e-mail ID no later than December 20, 2018.

The contents of posters should be send as a soft copy ( PPT) by e-mail to posters.caltri10@gmail.com, The deadline for this submission is July 31, 2018. Decision on acceptance or otherwise will be intimated by by Aug 31, 2018. The best three posters will receive cash awards. Hard copies of selected posters should measure 4'X 3'.


A special numbered volume of the journal “Calcutta Statistical Association Bulletin” \will be published by SAGE containing papers presented at the symposium and selected through a peer-reviewing process. Participants interested to publish their presentations in this volume should send the full manuscript to the Convener, by January 31, 2019.


All Participants are required to be registered. The registration fee (non-refundable) is as follows:

  Within October 31, 2018 After October 31, 2018
Indian (Including SAARC countries) :
CSA Life Member INR 3000.00 INR 4000.00
Research Student INR 2000.00 INR 3000.00
Others INR 4000.00 INR 5000.00
Foreign (Including NRI) :
CSA Life Member USD 400.00 USD 500.00
Research Student USD 300.00 USD 400.00
Others USD 500.00 USD 600.00

A limited number of reductions/waivers may be available upon application with supporting documents at the discretion of the committee for participants without any source of funding.
Registered participants will be provided symposium kit and lunch, tea/coffee on all symposium days.

For modes of payment please check the registration page


Will be announced later

Department Of Statistics, University of Calcutta
35, Ballygunge Circular Road
Kolkata - 700019
Arindam Sengupta,
Convenor, Organising Committee
Tenth International Triennial Calcutta Symposium
Department of Statistics, University of Calcutta
35, Ballygunge Circular Road, Kolkata - 700019, India
E-mail: caltri10@gmail.com
Website: triennial.calcuttastatisticalassociation.org

Prof. Uttam Bandyopadhyay
Prof. Rahul Mukerjee
Prof. Manisha Pal Prof. Mausumi Bose Prof. Partha Lahiri
Prof. Asis Kumar Chattopadhyay   Prof. Tathagata Bandyopadhyay
Dr. Arindam Sengupta
Joint Convenors
Dr. Rahul Bhattacharyya Dr. Arindam Gupta
Dr. Dhiman Dutta Mr. Ayan Chanda
Prof. Aditya Chattopadhyay
Prof. Gauri Sankar Datta
Prof. Bani Kumar Mallick
Prof.Tapabrata Maiti
Prof. Atanu Biswas
Mr. Onkar Prasad Ghosh
Dr. Sumanta Adhya
Dr. Parthasarathi Chakrabarti
Dr. Saptarshi Mondal
Mr. Tuhinsubhra Bhattacharya
Prof. Anup Dewanji
Dr. Gaurangadeb Chattopadhyay
Prof. Sudhansu S. Maiti
Prof. Tirthankar Dasgupta
Prof. Bhaswati Ganguli
Prof. Amita Pal
Mr. Harekrishna Maity
Dr. Natasha Dasgupta
Dr. Sisir Samanta
Advisory Committee
Prof. Sir David Cox
Prof. Shoutir Kishore Chatterjee
Prof. Shyama Prasad Mukherjee
Prof. Bikas Kumar Sinha
Prof. Sanat Kumar Sarkar
Prof. Saibal Chattopadhyay
Prof. Nitis Mukhopadhyay
Prof. Sam Efromovich
Prof. B. V. Rao
Prof. Sanghamitra Bandopadhyay
Prof. Premadhis Das
Prof. C. Radhakrishna Rao
Prof. Pranab Kumar Sen
Prof. Sujit Kumar Basu
Prof. Terry Speed
Prof. Malay Ghosh
Prof. Peter Mueller
Prof. Rajeeva L Karandikar
Prof. Bimal Kumar Roy
Prof. Bimal K Sinha